Based on EX17 problem

Hello!
I’m very new to coding and the book has done wonders for me so far.

After completing ex17 I decided to give myself a challenge based on it, basically I wanted to open a file, copy the contents of it by storing it in a variable, ask the user for input, store that in a variable and rewrite the destination file by adding these two variables to it.

Here is my code:

print("Copying a file to add it to another file!")
from sys import argv
from os.path import exists #Technicaly don't need that here(?)

script, from_file, to_file = argv
from_file = open(from_file)
print("Your file contents:")
print(from_file.read())
contents = from_file.read()
print("Is there anything you would like to add to the destination file? \n(leave empty if not)... ")
contents2 = input("")

to_file = open(to_file, 'w+')
to_file.write(contents + contents2)

#Now I want to read what I've done
print("Let's read our new file:")
to_file.seek(0) 
print(to_file.read())

from_file.close()
to_file.close()

The problem is it doesn’t seem to save the contents of the from_file from this:

contents = from_file.read()

Even though it does print it when I gave it the command to before

(BTW is the output in the shell suppose to be all specey? it also gives me weird characters I never put in there ( ÿþ - to be specific ))

So when I finally tell it to print the new file it just prints me the contents of contents2 without contents .

I get no error but the program doesn’t work like I planned it. I realize I may have made a mess of things so I also included the output that I got in the Shell:

> echo "This is a test file"> test.txt
> python ex17a.py test.txt new_testfor17.txt
Copying a file to add it to another file!
Your file contents:
ÿþT h i s   i s   a   t e s t   f i l e

Is there anything you would like to add to the destination file?
(leave empty if not)...
okay
Let's read our new file: 
okay

Thank you!