Comparison strict vs... weak?

Hi!

I’m learning Javascript from a book that strongly recommends using the strict comparison (eg ‘===’) rather than just good ol’ comparison (eg ‘==’) for run-of-the-mill control flow.

I’ve spent about 1.5 years learning python. Only in a few cases have I encountered a situation where I needed to use strict comparison. Maybe this is because I tend to be deliberate about how I use certain datatypes, or maybe it’s just because I have limited experience.

So the question: Are strict comparisons always preferred in javascript? Does this also apply to python?

Hi @austen Python don’t makes the distincion between strict and type-converting comparisons like JavaScript (Built-in Types — Python 3.9.7 documentation) because it doesn’t convert different types automatically. Python will not convert a string to a number unless you tell Python to do it and even then it’s hard.

In JavaScript this is easy, so the distinction between strict and type-converting comparisons is important (because JavaScript will automatically convert different object types). So has the string “1” the same value as the number 1, because “1” and 1 will have the same value of 1. This means “1” == 1 will be true, but “1” === 1 will be false because in the later case JavaScript is forced to recognise the object-type and will see that they are not the same (the first is a object of type string the second a object of type number).

From MDM:

The more commonly-used abstract comparison (e.g. == ) converts the operands to the same type before making the comparison.

And here the whole link):

I hope I could help.

2 Likes

Thanks for the link! I misunderstood the strict comparison. I was thinking that “===” was something like the “is” keyword from Python. Now I see they’re totally different. is checks to see if the evaluated object is identical to the instance being compared.