Data Science, Data Analytics, Python, Noob

Hello LCTHW nation! Special thanks to @zedshaw for promoting education, tech-ed and community outreach. I hope you and your loved ones are now safe after Irma!

My question here will begin with a brief summary. I am new to coding and want to get a job in data science. I have used multiple resources and am measuring my progress. However, I am still new and unsure as to when I’ll be able to find a job that could pay me $45,000 or more (and for what?).

Is data analytics a nearer-distance, with regards to finding work with only an associates degree in Liberal Arts?

Currently, I have finished taking quizzes in two Python iOS apps, completed 70% of Codecademy’s “Learn Python”, am only at ex14.py of LPTHW (2.6.5), and have many other resources. For instance, I am a Salem, MA native and frequent General Assembly, a non-accredited tech-school in Boston and beyond. Tonight I took an intro to data science course, and eventually want to take the $16,000 course in Full-Time Data Science Immersive, though if I take that calculated risk I will have to make sure there is a career on the other end.

My current accomplishments are scarce. I just finished my first program for a Daily Caloric Intake Calculator, something that is going to be a part of a bigger project for learning the ketogenic diet. I practice LPTHW exercises with it, such as raw_input() and turning responses such as age (i.e. 26) into an integer: int(raw_input()), so I am aware that I have a long ways to go (will love to see how much I know after I complete the book, but as others have posted, it is difficult getting far fast with full-time work and responsibilities limiting daily practice time).