Ex 48 - Confused

So we are coming down to the wire and I am actually finding myself understanding what’s going on. It’s a challenge for my thinking so thanks a heap.

I am just getting into Ex 48 or Lexicon as I call it.

Where I am confused. A lexicon is a list of allowable words right? Yet ex48 is all about the lexicon_test.py and making it work by adding to your lexicon.py. Do you understand where I am going with this.
We type the first few lines of the test, then create the lexicon to make it work.

Is Ex 48 about the test or about the lexicon?

It’s about both. Your test runs your code. Now, I’ve given you the test, you just have to write the code that makes the test pass. This is a really common thing for programmers to do since, as a programmer, you need to automate what you do and testing is something you do.

So, I recommend you watch the video on this one. I believe I go through the process of doing this, but if I don’t let me know and I’ll see about redoing the video to show exactly how it’s done.

But, try it first on your own just to see where you go. Think in terms of: write some of the test, then get just a tiny bit of your lexicon.py to work with the test, then keep doing that until the whole thing passes.

Zed, can you point me in the right direction please. Maybe I need to go back to a chapter.

It’s all well and good to type out what you have put on paper and copy what you put on video, but actually understanding it can be challenging. I suppose that is the same with any career path. Get someone to explain how to drive a car. To us it’s second nature, but there are some things you can’t explain.

I have managed to get the testing down pat and understand what every line is doing, except for the whole numbers and exceptions things. I could copy someone else’s code but it would not explain it to me.