Ex21 extra credit

Hi all!
I’ve been been stuck on this for a couple of days now and thought I’d reach out to LPTHW community.
I think I’ve worked the original formula out correctly, as they both return the same figure, but the problem I’m having is with my own formula. I used the same method to simplify my formula as I did with the example, however its outputting two different figures and I really can’t see why.
So my question is, what have I actually done wrong here and what am I not seeing?

For context I’m a carpenter that is trying to change his career, so please be gentle :joy:

Thank you in advance for your time and knowledge!

Code:

# Example formula.
why = add(age, subtract(height, multiply(weight, divide(iq, 2))))
what = age+height-(weight*iq/2)
print("That becomes: ", what,"Can you do it by hand?")
print("That becomes: ", why,"Can you do it by hand?")

# My formula
who = multiply(iq, add(age, subtract(weight, divide(height, 2))))
when = iq*age+(weight-height/2)
print("My formula equates: ", who, "using the same numbers as shaws.")
print("My formula equates: ", when, "using the same numbers as shaws.")
Example output:

Here is a puzzle.
DIVIDING 50.0 / 2
MULTIPLYING 180 * 25.0
SUBTRACTING 74 - 4500.0
ADDING 35 + -4426.0
That becomes:  -4391.0 Can you do it by hand?
That becomes:  -4391.0 Can you do it by hand?

my formulas output: 

DIVIDING 74 / 2
SUBTRACTING 180 - 37.0
ADDING 35 + 143.0
MULTIPLYING 50.0 * 178.0
My formula equates:  8900.0 using the same numbers as shaws.
My formula equates:  1893.0 using the same numbers as shaws
1 Like

Operator precedence. * has a higher precedence than +, so the second caculation is implicitly this one:

when = (iq * age) + (weight - height/2)

Not the same as the first one. You need to use parentheses to correct this.

2 Likes

Thank you @florian for your response, I should have realised that as PEDMAS was taught to me at school! I appreciate your time and thank you again.

1 Like