Ex42: Super headaches

I’m in the beginning of Ex 42 but I’ve been sidetracked by something in it. I was punching in the code for Ex 42 when I got to the line that had super() in it. I was already somewhat aware of super() having encountered it doing online research on classes but I decided to pause working on 42 to better understand super(). I was reading up on it and found some code as an example. I started playing around with the code to see how I could break it and I found something I cannot explain/understand why it’s happening.

This is the original code:

class Animal:
  def __init__(self, Animal):
    print(Animal, 'is an animal.')

class Mammal(Animal):
  def __init__(self, mammalName):
    print(mammalName, 'is a warm-blooded animal.')
    super().__init__(mammalName)

class NonWingedMammal(Mammal):
  def __init__(self, NonWingedMammal):
    print(NonWingedMammal, "can't fly.")
    super().__init__(NonWingedMammal)

class NonMarineMammal(Mammal):
  def __init__(self, NonMarineMammal):
    print(NonMarineMammal, "can't swim.")
    super().__init__(NonMarineMammal)

class Dog(NonMarineMammal, NonWingedMammal):
  def __init__(self):
    print('Dog has 4 legs.')
    super().__init__('Dog')

d = Dog()
print('')
print(Dog.__mro__)
print('')

I added the lines about printing the MRO in for reasons I’ll get to in a minute.

This code when run produces the following in PowerShell:

PS C:\Users\dswal\AppData\Local\Programs\Python\Python36\Doug> python testout.py
Dog has 4 legs.
Dog can't swim.
Dog can't fly.
Dog is a warm-blooded animal.
Dog is an animal.

(<class '__main__.Dog'>, <class '__main__.NonMarineMammal'>, <class '__main__.NonWingedMammal'>, <class '__main__.Mammal'>, <class '__main__.Animal'>, <class 'object'>)

While I was messing with the code I moved all the super() lines above the print() lines in each method that had super() in it. So it looked like this…

class Animal:
  def __init__(self, Animal):
    print(Animal, 'is an animal.')