Ex46 - Ran 0 tests Issue - Help!

Hello all, this is my first time posting and I need some help.

I have tried this exercise a few times. I have not had any other trouble in the book that I haven’t been able to research and figure out. I browsed the forum/internet before asking, but here it goes.

I go through ex 46 and follow the directions.

I have installed pip, virtualenv, nose, and setuptools.

Here is my directory structure.
test2
I created the init.py files for the tests and NAME directories.

The set up file and the NAME_tests.py file were copied by hand from the book and saved.

Just as a side not I added these files to their respective directories as well as the book describes.

I then start the virtual environment in Powershell with ..venvs\lpthw\Scripts\activate and get into the virtual environment that was created, cd to the skeleton directory, then try and run nosetests.

I cannot seem to get any other result than “Ran 0 tests in 0.008s.”

I am really struggling to see where I went wrong. Is it the new version of python I am using?

Did I make a glaring mistake?

I just want to figure out what i have messed up so I can move forward in the book and start reading the second book. I’m a huge fan of this book and Zed. If I left anything out and this post needs more detail please let me know. I appreciate any feedback I can get.

Let’s see, here’s some common things that happen:

1. You named your file tests/_init_.py (single underscore) instead of tests/__init__.py (double underscore).
  2. Same for NAME/__init__.py
  3. You try to cd into tests when you should never do that.
  4. You think you wrote tests but you actually didn’t, probably by naming them wrong.

Drop some more screenshots of what happens when you run it, and what your ls tests and ls NAME directory says.

Thank you for responding Zed!

I checked the init file names for tests/names and they both have the double underscore.