How do you go from K&R to Blender source code?

Hi there,

I appreciate that this question has sort of been asked before, in that a lot of people have talked about how difficult programming is, how they’re not getting it, how steep the learning curve is, etc. But I have a slightly different question and I’m also looking for advice, so here goes…
Twenty years ago I studied IT in a UK university masters program, a real sink-or-swim fast track one year conversion course for people who had no experience with comp sci (my first degree was in philosophy!). We studied Java, and I did okay - not great, but okay - and I went on to work in the industry for two years, but I didn’t really enjoy it so I left and transitioned into the video industry where I now work as an editor.

About five or six years ago I got into programming mainly as a hobby, but at the back of my mind was the notion that I might someday go back to programming as a job, but maybe more like using Python scripting inside of Blender or Javascript in After Effects, or maybe indie game dev or something like that. I’ve tried various languages in my self study, including C (using K&R), scheme (using the wizard book), Processing, Python, some hobby game development using C# and Monogame, some C++. All of which makes it look like I’ve been flitting around not sticking to anything, which is kind of true, but I’ve intentionally done so. Since it’s mostly been a hobby activity I haven’t felt inclined to learn anything to a high degree of polish. I’ve been doing whatever interests me until it no longer does, or gets so difficult that I feel I’m making no progress whatsoever.