Is Python too advanced for this total beginner?

Hello,
I really don’t know where to begin, or how. I’m trying to follow the instructions in the PDF book, but I can’t tell if I’m doing it correctly because I don’t know what anything means. My biggest learning obstacles are that I am somewhat of a perfectionist, which makes the random-feeling trial and error approach I’ve taken so far seem very frustrating. It feels like trial and error because I can’t tell whether or not what I’ve done is correct. I was told that coding requires that you do things in a meticulously precise manner, which I thought sounded wonderful, but so far it hasn’t felt that way. The book said to get Python 3.6 but then I read that it is okay to get a more recent version, so I did. Version 3.8.8 for my Windows 7 operating system. I also got the Atom and the Powershell attached to my Start Menu per the instructions.

The word “run” is confusing, I guess that just means to open it? It doesn’t seem like anything is running, it’s just sitting there. The PDF of Learn Python the Hard Way did not say to run as Administrator but that’s the only option my computer seemed to offer, so that’s what I did. I hope that’s okay. I googled “how to run windows powershell in windows 7” and found some suggestions. I also learned about the Windows button on the keyboard and Win+r, which of course made literal-minded me wonder if you are also supposed to type the plus sign. I managed to figure that one out, LOL.