Learning Python The Hard Way - Exercise 9

Hi,

I’m happy to have joined the forum and to have found this book/course, it’s really structured in a way that works well with the way that I learn.

I have no previous experience with other programming languages and decided to learn python because I have a couple of boring tasks that eat up my time at work which I’d like to see automated. I chose Python because it seemed like the easiest language to start off with, specially after my brief encounter with a few chapters of a C++ introduction book that I decided to put aside for the moment.

Anyways moving on to the question that I had regarding Exercise 9 of Learning Python The Hard Way.
I was busy breaking my own code in order to then fix it.

This is what my code looks like before I start breaking it:

Here's some new strange stuff, remember type it exactly
days ="Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun" # creats variable called days and makes value = string
months = "Jan\nFeb\nMar\nApr\nMay\nJun\nJul\nAug" #\N creats variable called months and makes value = string. The \n tells
#python we want each month stored as a value in its own line
print("Here are the days: ", days) #prints out a string plus value of variable days
print("Here are the months: ",months) #print out a string plus value of variable months

print("""
There's something going on here.
With the three double-quotes.
We'll be able to type as much as we like.
Even 4 lines if we want, or 5, or 6.
""") # We are printing out a string and making use of the 3 """ in order to allow
#us to continue typing on a different line and use a combination of symbols like "" or '' without
# it being considered the delimiter to end the string.