LMPTHW ex32 Scanner.skip() method

I’m working on ex33, the parser. I’m using Zed’s solution to ex32, Scanner to build my parser. I am studying the skip() method. Here it is:

def skip(self, *what):
        for x in what:
            if x != 'INDENT': self.ignore_ws()

tok = self.tokens[0]
            if tok[0] != x:
                return False
            else:
                self.tokens.pop(0)

return True

The confusing bit for me is that the ex33.py quick demo parser which I’m using to guide my solution uses a skip() function which appears to take no arguments (besides the tokenized code). The way skip() is used in the ex33 demo is to just automatically skip the first element in the list, regardless of the element’s token type.

Here’s how skip is called in the ex33 parser demo:

def function_definition(tokens):
    """
    funcdef = DEF name LPAREN params RPAREN COLON body
    I ignore body for this example 'cause that's hard.
    I mean, so you can learn how to do it.
    """
    skip(tokens) # discard def
    name = match(tokens, 'NAME')
    match(tokens, 'LPAREN')
    params = parameters(tokens)
    match(tokens, 'RPAREN')
    match(tokens, 'COLON')
    return {'type': 'FUNCDEF', 'name': name, 'params': params}

I’m going to make my skip method do things the ex33 way, but I’d like to know why the Scanner.skip() method is so complicated. What is it the purpose of all that whitespace removal? Why does it takes token id strings as arguments?

I’m looking over the tokenized output from the scanner. I can see that all whitespace is tokenized as INDENT, but I don’t think that’s right. I think an indent should be four consecutive spaces. Maybe I should make new token regexes. One for ‘four-space’ indents, and another for individual spaces. My only concern is that this change will break the parser.

That is entirely possible, since I’m only worrying about getting that little sample to work and it only has one level of indent. Here’s the line of code: