LP3THW Ex 46 Required Quiz

Been stuck on the quiz portion of this exercise and I’m not really giving up but I could really use a little help / clues please. I’ve looked at youtube for videos as well as searched the interwebs for help with quiz 46. End of the day I have a lot of questions still as well as error messages (that can be something small that I just missed since I’m a very green rookie).

#3 Make a project and start putting code into the module, then get the module working.

– Ok, I made a simple .py file that’s basically just a “hello world” type of .py. In this case, I named this .py file “yoinks.py”

#4 Put a script in the bin directory that you can run. Read about how you can make a Python script that’s runnable for your system

– Is the script the book talking about the “yoinks.py” that I made? Ok, I placed “yoinks.py” in the bin directory. To make it runnable for my system, that’s the chmod +x bin/yoinks.py ? Do I need to put this “shebang” #!/usr/bin/env python on the top of the yoinks.py?

#5 Mention the bin script you created in your setup.py so that it gets installed.
– This is what my setup.py looks like. Does the packages and scripts portion look correct?

try:
  from setuptools import setup
except ImportError:
  from distutils.core import setup

config = {
    'description':  'My Project Yoink',
    'author':   'My Name',
    'url':  'URL to get it at.',
    'download_url': 'Where to download it.',
    'author_email': 'my.name@emailaddress.com',
    'version': '0.1',
    'install_requires': ['nose'],
    'packages': ['yoinks.py'],
    'scripts':  'bin/yoinks.py',
    'name': 'yoinks'
}

setup(**config)

#6 User your setup.py to install your own module and make sure it works, then use pip to uninstall it.