Need a good book on programming

I read something on YouTube today in the LPTHW section and somebody said that this book is for someone that has programming experience. I agree, and have decided to put aside my LP3THW book and find a book that explains programming. I need to know why I’m doing what I’m doing. For example, why do I put print statements in parenthesis (however you spell it) and why do I put these : or why do I put (((this)))? It is easier to remember this stuff when you know why you are doing it. My first attempt to learn programming was with a $200 video course on VB6, and the first thing it said was, “we expect you to have some knowledge of programming”. It wasn’t two long before I realized I wasted $200. I’m sorry, this book might be one of the best out there, but for me it isn’t cutting it. So can some one recommend a book? I also have “The Self Taught Programmer” by Cory Althoff, but that uses IDLE and is confusing. I also have other books on programming but they are on other programs. So can anyone help me out here? Thank you in advance. Not2smart.

Automate the boring stuff with python i was learning from book it intended for novice programmer it also have supported videos with no cost but you have to google it . Besides all the resources you have to have the nerver giveup aproach

1 Like

I can sympathise with this @Not2smart as it’s can be overwhelming when you start.

But a computer language is exactly like a spoken language to learn. There are basic patterns in grammar and syntax that you have to get familiar with.

These are structured in a certain way, with basic constructs that programming uses, things like code blocks, functions/methods, classes.

Perhaps start with YouTube for some absolute beginner stuff. At the risk of sounding patronising, which isn’t intended, there are some good Raspberry Pi Python tutorials aimed at computing for kids that starts at point zero.