Unbelievably stuck

What is this forum?
Is it just a forum to work on Zed Shaw’s workbooks?
I’ve tried working through, “Learn Ruby the Hard Way” twice.
I did the first half of the book twice but never finished the 2nd half.

I’ve been learning to code for 5 years, and I feel often I’ve learned less than people who’ve coded for 1 month.
Often I find it so frustrating, it really obliterates my self esteem.
And I want to quit.

Does anyone have any advice?

Yes, the forum is for people working on my books, but I’ll generally answer questions about anything.

I have loads and loads of advice, but you’ll have to bare your soul a bit more and tell me what what’s happening when you get to the second half of the book. You get through the first part, then when you hit the second part what goes on? Some things I see with people are:

1. Perfectionism: You make a mistake and then horrible dread fills your heart that you’ll never been a programmer so you give up.
  2. ADHD: You start on exercise 26 and then about half way through you go read about quantum mechanics but actually you just read the titles then watch two movies and play some Fortnite and when you come back it’s a week later and you forgot everything so whatever.
  3. Busy Life: You have kids and a family and that takes up all your time.
  4. Perception: You think programmers start at the top of their code, write everything perfectly, then run it once and go home with their paycheck. When you try to do that your code comes out like garbage and you give up.
  5. Readers: I have videos but you never watch them.
  6. Shoulders: You think you should just be able to do this without watching the videos and when you can’t you give up.

Just some types of obstacles people run into that I see, but maybe you’re totally different. Tell me everything and I’ll see what I can do.

1 Like

Thank you so much for your thoughtful response, Zed.
I think I was all of those things except for 5 & 6. I did watch the videos.