Why this did not give an output using atom text editor?

when I run
a = "Hello world "
a
if I save this two line code and run it from PowerShell it does not give any output whereas on IDLE it does.
Is it due to the reason that storing a value and printing it are two different things. If this is true then to output anything I will always require a print() function, simply entering the variable ‘a’ (like I did above) won’t work?

1 Like

Yes. The REPL echoes the value of every expression that you type. In a script it’s different, you need to to print things explicitly.

Thanks Florian. I am a beginner programmer, so I will try and understand your reply.
I googled REPL. So IDLE is REPL, it outputs each and every line (just about everything). Whereas when we run a code from the Shell it outputs the entire program.
So when I type python in Shell and run it, I enter an environment similar to IDLE/REPL which is nothing but the Python Interpreter itself, right? Or is it an interface with Python Interpreter?

Yes.

Honestly I’m not sure about the nomenclature here either. You basically get the Python interpreter in interactive mode.

Hi Aniruddha ! I had the same problem : no output at ex1. Maybe you are a beginer non programmer like me. For me the solution was very simple but very long to find out (several hours) :

But i just had to save my code before running it through powershell lol… long way to go :’)

Welcome @Gab1 and @Aniruddha :slight_smile:

A simple way to look at it is: using the python interpreter (through IDLE shell or by executing python on your command line) provides you with a way to interact with python in real time by using the programming syntax.