Workplace question

I haven’t seen any workplace related questions, but I really enjoyed some of @zedshaw 's insights in LMPTHW, so I figured I’d give this a shot here.

I’m new to the developer scene. I managed to score a job by a small startup some months back. I’m part of a team that’s me, a dev, and I guess what we’d call the CTO and on co-founder who has something to do with us. (There are other teams.) I’m like way new to all this, great. Other dev cannot communicate. He doesn’t use git, and if I write code, he doesn’t incorporate it. He gets work done, but his code is hard to read for me (very cryptic variables, not good spacing, etc.). If I ever correct something directly, he denies it.

I’ve found that I can get by not writing code at all. If I want to write something, I research it, write up a little writeup, and then he’ll Slack something like ‘oh, that gives me some ideas’, and go do it more or less. This isn’t really what I want though. I am in the middle of my first development position, and I am not developing. I find other things to do for the company that are useful, but this is not what I expected.

Co-founder does get what’s going on, I’ve mentioned it and had conversations. Still, I suspect they can’t get rid of him, because for sure I can’t handle the heat alone. I worry if his code is buggy and breaks stuff in production or worse, but I can’t do better by myself.

Is this situation as weird as I think? What ideas might you have?

So, you’ll most likely never fix this other developer without firing him. Not sure why programmers are like this, but most likely he’s insecure about his code or just arrogant or most likely both. Without the CTO threatening to fire him if he doesn’t start writing better code and let you help he’ll just keep doing it. In the end, this will most likely tank the company as nobody will be able to work on this code base later and they’ll have wasted their money.