Austen's LJSTHW Journal

Hello! I’m studying from the draft version of LJSTHW. I’ll be taking notes in this thread. I am also keeping a LJSTHW gitlab repo. When my curiosity veers off from material directly related to LJSTHW exercises, I might write about it on my blog.

Computer system:

• Acer Chromebook CB3-431
  • Chrome OS 70, beta channel
  • Linux Apps for Chromebook enabled
  • Node.js v10.12.0

The book and videos have been straightforward. I followed the Linux version of the exercise 0 video to install Node.js on Chrome OS. My editor is simply Vim. VSCode is unnecessary at this stage so I did not bother installing it.

Exercises 01-04 are completed. They all run without problems.

2 Likes

Today I worked on Exercises 05-11. From what I had already learned about JavaScript, I thought I wasn’t really going to like the language very much. However, as I’m going through Zed’s book and reading online docs, my enthusiasm is definitely growing, especially for Node.js.

Ex10 is probably my favourite so far. I tried to figure out how to write to a file. For whatever reason, I was able to overwrite an existing file, but I wasn’t able to create a new file. I wiped most of my first attempt and started over with file IO. Eventually, I got readFileSync and writeFileSync working well enough to move on, but I’d really like to learn how to use file descriptors and callbacks. It all looks complicated up front, but I remember feeling the same way about Python.

Anyhow, this article helped me a bit with understanding files in node.js.

Here’s my ex10 attempt.

Looking at the repo now, I can see a couple of .swp files. I have a feeling those are from my Vim sessions. I’ll have to see about editing the vim or repo configs so temporary files don’t get added to the commit.

1 Like

This little tidbit was very helpful for solving the ex12 Extra Challenge.