Optimum architecture for webapp using Django

I am a complete novice in programming. So please don’t make fun of me. I would like to create a web app using Django. The idea is to let the user generate points on a map through latitude & longitude data entered in a form in the application.

The architecture I had in mind is the following : Django form => Django model => MySQL => PHP => XML => Google Map

But intuitively I feel this is not the most efficient architecture for my application. Moreover I ain’t sure how PHP would dynamically generate an XML every time a user feeds data to the MySQL database.

Could someone please guide me on what could be the optimum architecture for my application ?

Making fun of beginners is forbidden here, just so you know.

So, the first problem is if you don’t know how to code pretty well already then this question is sort of way above your pay grade. By that I mean, I could describe how to do this, but you wouldn’t be able to understand it really. The only way to explain it would be an entire big course on making your first Django application. So first step for you is to get better at just basic Python. Second step is to go through one Django book and get all the code working. Then, your question is way easier to answer and you might not even have it anymore.

But, to answer the question: You would not need PHP or XML at all this setup. Just Django and MySQL will do it, but you’d also need to have a “Geo” capability in MySQL. I know PostgreSQL has an insanely good geo plugin, which will let you easily query by lat/long coordinates and distances. I’m not sure if MySQL has it.

1 Like

In fact you perfectly answered the question. Thank you very much. I have been simply following the Google Maps API documentation which hints at using PHP & XML : https://developers.google.com/maps/documentation/javascript/mysql-to-maps?hl=fr
But your answer has given me the direction in which to look for.