Using classes and random together in a game? Worth it?

Hi, I have been stumped and extremely stressed about this for several weeks! I’m new to programming. I was able to create a small game (linked here) that would allow the user to randomly get a story genre (Mystery or Horror). Then, based on the genre selected, a character, setting and plot (from the chosen genre) would be randomly selected for them.

I was able to create this game quite easily using functions but a friend told me it would be so much better if I used classes and objects. I am able to put everything into classes (makes sense) but my confusion is how could I implement the random selection part? I still want users to get randomly selected characters, settings and plots.

Trying to convert this program into one that uses OOP has been a rough experience - I can’t easily see a way to do it and I question if it’s worth it?! Help! Here’s the revised one trying to use classes.

One of the benefits would be to get rid of all the global variables as you could hold those variables in the instance of a player class.

But look at it this way, OOP is merely a coding approach to try to represent the world in parallel to how humans perceive it, that is, through seeing objects and their interactions and behaviours.

We look at a game player (class) and recognise they might have actions (like roll for choice) and attributes (like the chosen genre). We can relate to this as a layer of abstraction above the code.

This can help in writing the game in pseudocode as we create a structure before any functioning code is written.

It can also be helpful in avoiding repetition which is very important for maintaining your software. The code similarity between hor_roll() and mys_roll() could be refactored into a more generic roll() function. What would happen if you decided to add a comedy and romantic genres in your game?